Monday, July 18, 2011

10 Years of Newbery Award Winning Books

by Jan Shoop
Did you know that tomorrow is the birthday of John Newbery? John Newbery was the first bookseller and publisher to make children’s books a specialty. He was born July 19, 1713. The American Library Association awards the Newbery Medal annually to outstanding children’s books.

To enhance your family summer reading, here is a list of the last 10 years of Newbery Medal Award winners:
2011 – Moon Over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool
2010 – When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead
2009 – The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
2008 – Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! Voices from a Medieval Village by Laura Amy Schlitz
2007 – The Higher Power of Lucky by Susan Patron
2006 – Criss Cross by Lynne Rae Perkins
2005 – Kira-Kira by Cynthia Kadohata
2004 – The Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo
2003 – Crispin: The Cross of Lead by Avi
2002 – A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park
2001 – A Year Down Yonder by Richard Peck

Enjoy reading!
If you are looking for more fun summer activities, then go to: 15 Free Fun Family Activities for Summer
If you enjoyed this post, please take a moment to share it!